Why no PM of Pakistan has ever completed his/her tenure?

[To understand the context of this post, please read At What Cost! Why Compute Economic Costs of Faulty Political Decisions]
All elected PM’s in Pakistan starting from Liaquat Ali Khan were never allowed by establishment to rule during their tenure. Whereas there were three military dictators who comfortably ruled for around decades, not a single PM has been allowed to complete their five years terms. 
Not a single PM has ever completed his/her full tenure! 19 PMs in 70 years of our history till 2017. 

  • Why can’t the establishment and real status quo allow even one PM to start n complete his/her constitutional mandate? 
  • What are they afraid of?
  • Why PMs are perpetually fighting for their survival?

Civilian PM’s rule have been mired by perpetual series of destabilization tactics. Foremost among them have been allegations of corruption. However, in not a single military dictatorship even one such allegation had been proven despite the presence of the entire government machinery with the dictators and all organs of state at their disposal.  This seems to suggest that the persistent allegations of corruptions have been a tool for keeping the elected leaders destabilized and not allowing them to use public resources for the benefit of public. The status quo forces have used allegations of corruption as a tool for thwarting the will of the people and not delegating them the power to rule. 

There is now a need for serious study of Pakistan’s history. 

Please note that I do not belong to any political party or I favor either BB or NS. I am only pro constitution and for the implementation of due process of law. I think Pakistan’s destiny is tied with its constitutional and electoral form of government. Pakistan was founded by politicians through an electoral process. It would only succeed through electoral process and through the politicians. This has been proven by our experience of dictators: 

Doctrine of Necessity 

There is nothing new in the disqualification of Nawaz Sharif. Not a single PM of Pakistan has been able to complete the full term of his or her tenure. They have been ousted through murder, hanging, coups, terminations, forced resignation, invocation of doctrine of necessity, innovative judgments ratifying arbitrary use of powers by Presidents etc

  1. Killed. Liaquat Ali Khan
  2. Fired. Khawaja Nazimuddin
  3. Forced resignation. Mohammad Ali Bogra
  4. Forced resignation. Chaudhry Mohammad Ali
  5. Resigned. Husain Shaheed Suharwardi.
  6. Resigned. I.I. Chundrigar
  7. Toppled. Coup. Feroze Khan Noon
  8. Toppled. Coup. Hanged. Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto
  9. Deposed. Mohammad Khan Junejo
  10. Deposed. Benazir Bhutto
  11. Deposed. Restored. Forced Resignation. Nawaz Sharif
  12. Deposed. Eventually killed. Benazir Bhutto
  13. Vanished. Shaukat Aziz
  14. Forced resignation. Zafrullah Jamali
  15. Resignation. Chaudhry Shujaat
  16. Judicial removal. Yusuf Raza Gilani
  17. Judicial removal. Nawaz Sharif

Why PMs fail to complete their tenure

The links below explain the ubiquitous presence of status quo forces; Establishment + Judiciary + Bureaucracy in toppling the elected governments:  

See Also: 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *